Wargamer Home - Forum Home
Welcome Guest, please Login or Register!
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register or login before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Topic: Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning

Page 1

All Forums : [GAMES] : Computer Gaming > Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
18 JAN 2012 at 12:45pm

Knavery

Centurion
Centurion

I recieved an email for this yesterday and decided to try out the demo after watching a bunch of videos recorded at the PAX East convention. It looked pretty sweet until I started playing it. It's too arcady and 100% geared towards consoles. It was referenced that this would be an Elder Scrolls killer--no. That is not the case. For those that are interested in Fable type games, you'll probably really enjoy it. And it seems there's a lot that goes into character customization. But the game seems very much on rails. They talk about a huge world to explore, but during the demo, it seemed very similar to the Dungeon Siege series. The game also appears to have copied a lot from other games in lore, races, and the locations they live. The cartoony graphics don't help much either. 

While I think it would be a fun console RPG, this does not at all cater to the PC crowd or the crowd here at Wargamer. Plus, it's not a wargame. 

A composer is a guy who goes around forcing his will on unsuspecting air molecules, often with the assistance of unsuspecting musicians. -- Frank Zappa

Profile Search

18 JAN 2012 at 12:48pm

son_of_montfort

Colonel
Colonel

I felt the same way about the demo. I was going to pre-order, but it felt like Fable with less to do.

Son_of_Montfort "Slander is a poison which extinguishes charity, both in the slanderer and in the persons who listen to it." Bernard of Clairvaux

Profile Search
18 JAN 2012 at 1:13pm

Hartford688

Commander
Commander